99.1 PLR AARP Pledge to Vote

There are quite a few offices up for election this year. 99.1 PLR and AARP Connecticut wants you to know the duties of the open positions and who are the candidates running for office.

Be the difference by making your voice heard. Pledge to vote. Click on the AARP Connecticut banner below or text 22777. Vote Connecticut.


The Governor is an elected constitutional officer who serves a four-year term as the head of the executive branch — the highest state office. With the dust settling after Connecticut’s mid-August major party primaries, and an open seat in the governor’s office to fill this fall, the individuals who will occupy the top of the ballot on Election Day November 6 are clearly defined. For Democrats, it’s their endorsed candidate Ned Lamont, while Republican primary voters chose corporate executive Bob Stefanowski. Voters can also consider R. Nelson ‘Oz’ Griebel (GREE-bel) — a former GOP candidate for governor who is running this year as an Independent — along with decorated military veteran Micah Welintukonis. Voters will also see Libertarian Rodney Hanscomb rounding out the top of the ticket this fall.


Lieutenant Governor:

Connecticut’s Lt Governor is a lot more than just a ceremonial position. The two greatest responsibilities of the Lt Governor are to lead the state government during the Governor’s absence, or to succeed the Governor in the event of the Governor’s death, resignation, refusal to serve, or removal from office. In addition to a number of other leadership roles on various commissions and work groups, the Lt Governor is also President of the state Senate – and as we saw in the current term, serves as a tie-breaker in the event of a tie vote. This November, registered voters across the state will be called to decide which one of four candidates will hold this position, Democratic primary winner Susan Bysiewicz, Republican Joe Markley, Jeffrey Thibeault of the Libertarian Party, and independent Monte Frank.


Attorney General:

The State Attorney General is Connecticut’s chief civil legal officer, and the Office of the Attorney General was officially established in 1897. The Connecticut Constitution and General Statutes authorize the Attorney General to represent the interests of Connecticut citizens in all civil legal matters involving the state to protect the public interest — AND to serve as legal counsel to all state agencies. Our current Attorney General – Democrat George Jepsen – has served Connecticut since 2010 but is not seeking re-election this November. As a result, state voters will chose either state Representative William Tong, a Democrat — or Republican nominee Susan Hatfield, as the state’s new Attorney General for a four-year


State Comptroller:

The little talked about and often misunderstood duties of the Connecticut State Comptroller were first included in the State Constitution in 1786, and have been expanded over the years to include providing accounting and financial services, developing accounting policy, exercising accounting oversight, and preparing financial reports for state, federal and municipal governments and the public. So the comptroller actually oversees the payment of all wages and salaries of state employees; and negotiates the procurement of their medical, dental and pharmacy benefits. Today the state’s incumbent Democratic State Comptroller is Kevin Lembo. He is seeking re-election this November and is facing Republican challenger Sharon McLaughlin and Green Party nominee Rolf Maurer.


State Treasurer:

The Office of the Connecticut Treasurer (OTT) was established way back in 1638. The State Treasurer is the chief elected fiscal officer for State government, overseeing a wide range of activities regarding the prudent management of State funds. This includes the administration of a portfolio of pension assets for more than 190,000 beneficiaries and plan participants and a short-term investment fund utilized by agencies of municipal and state government. Connecticut’s current Tresurer is Democrat Denise Nappier who was first elected in November 1998. She is not running for re-election this November, so when voters go to the polls, they will choose between Republican Thad Gray and Democrat Shawn Wooden.


Secretary of the State:

The Secretary of the State for Connecticut is the official keeper of a wide array of public records and documents. The office publishes, distributes and sells the State Register and Manual, registers and licenses various businesses and commercial lenders, runs the state’s elections, officially documents legislation, regulations and other acts of the state government, and responds to more than 600,000 requests for information annually. The current secretary is Democrat Denise Merrill, who was first elected in November 2010, and who is running for re-election this November. She is being challenged by Republican Susan Chapman, Mike DeRosa of the Green Party, and Libertarian Party nominee Heather Gywn