Throwback Concert: Iron Maiden at XFINITY Theatre 2006

Throwback Concert: Iron Maiden at XFINITY Theatre 2006

By Drew Carrano

Just like every other band in the world, COVID-19 has affected Iron Maiden’s touring plans for 2020. In fact according to the band’s manager Rod Smallwood, Iron Maiden will not play live again until June 2021. A whole year!

So while we all wait for these heavy metal rockers to hit the road again, we look back to 2006 when Iron Maiden opened its “A Matter of Life and Death” World Tour in Connecticut.


Iron Maiden

A Matter of Life and Death Tour

Special Guest: Bullet For My Valentine

Wednesday October 4, 2006

The XFINITY Theatre – Hartford, CT


About The Tour:

Iron Maiden headed out on the road in 2006 to support its fourteenth studio album, “A Matter of Life and Death.” This was a unique tour as Iron Maiden played the new album in its entirety and followed it up with five classic Maiden songs. For casual fans, this probably wasn’t ideal, but for the die hards and fans of the new album, you couldn’t ask for a better set.

The tour kicked off at Hartford’s XFINITY Theatre (then called The New England Dodge Music Center) on October 4, 2006. It’s been a number of years since Iron Maiden had started a tour in the United States so for fans here in America, this was extra special. The band had arrived in Connecticut a few days earlier to prepare for the opening night of the tour. Turns out Iron Maiden really liked playing Hartford as this was their fourth show in six years at The XFINITY Theatre.

After the Hartford show, Iron Maiden played 59 more shows on the tour, which made stops in North America, Asia, the Middle East and Europe.

Below is the set list from The XFINITY Theatre show.



  1. Different World
  2. These Colours Don’t Run
  3. Brighter Than a Thousand Suns
  4. The Pilgrim
  5. The Longest Day
  6. Out of the Shadows
  7. The Reincarnation of Benjamin Breeg
  8. For The Greater Good of God
  9. Lord of Light
  10. The Legacy
  11. Fear of the Dark
  12. Iron Maiden
  13. 2 Minutes to Midnight (encore)
  14. The Evil That Men Do (encore)
  15. Hallowed Be Thy Name (encore)



Watch: Iron Maiden Live