Throwback Concert: Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers at XL Center 2014

Throwback Concert: Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers at XL Center 2014

By Drew Carrano

It’s still hard to believe Tom Petty is no longer with us. It was over two years ago the legendary singer and guitarist passed away unexpectedly at the age of 66. He may be gone, but his music lives on and so do the memories of his live performances.

Today we look back at Tom Petty’s second-to-last performance in Connecticut.

Today’s Throwback Concert:

Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers

Hypnotic Eye Tour

Special Guest: Steve Winwood

Saturday September 13, 2014

The XL Center – Hartford


About The Tour: Tom Petty & The Heartbreaks hit the road in 2014 to support their thirteenth – and final – studio album, Hypnotic Eye. The tour kicked off in early August in San Diego and featured special guest Steve Winwood. Two weeks before their show in Hartford, Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers played Boston’s Fenway Park for the very first time on Labor Day Weekend.

Every ticket purchased on this tour included a copy of Hypnotic Eye.

Opening the show at The XL Center was Steve Winwood, who’s set spanned his musical career: The Spencer Davis Group, Blind Faith, Traffic and one solo song.

Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers took the stage and opened with a cover of The Byrds’ “So You Want to Be a Rock ‘n’ Roll Star,” which was the opening track on the band’s first live album in 1985, Pack Up The Plantation: Live! The two-hour performance featured four songs off the new album and plenty of familiar hits. The capacity crowd at The XL Center enjoyed singing along to songs like Free Fallin’, Learning to Fly and American Girl.



Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers

  1. So You Want to Be a Rock ‘n’ Roll Star (The Byrds cover)
  2. Mary Jane’s Last Dance
  3. American Dream Plan B
  4. Into The Great Wide Open
  5. Forgotten Man
  6. I Won’t Back Down
  7. Free Fallin’
  8. Tweeter and the Monkey Man (Traveling Wilburys cover)
  9. U Get Me High
  10. Rebels
  11. Yer So Bad
  12. Learning to Fly
  13. Shadow People
  14. I Should Have Known It
  15. Refugee
  16. Runnin’ Down a Dream
  17. You Wreck Me (encore)
  18. American Girl (encore)

Steve Winwood

  1. I’m a Man (The Spencer Davis Group song)
  2. Them Changes (Buddy Miles cover)
  3. Can’t Find My Way Home (Blind Faith song)
  4. Medicated Goo (Traffic song)
  5. The Low Spark of High Heeled Boys (Traffic song)
  6. Empty Pages (Traffic song)
  7. Higher Love
  8. Dear Mr. Fantasy (Traffic song)
  9. Gimme Some Lovin’ (The Spencer Davis Group song)



Watch: Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers Live


Watch: Steve Winwood Live