Throwback Concert: AC/DC at New Haven Coliseum 1983

Throwback Concert: AC/DC at New Haven Coliseum 1983

99.1 PLR celebrates 50 years! This week we are celebrating another great year in our history: 1983!

That year PLR welcomed AC/DC to New Haven Coliseum. AC/DC hit the road in ’83 to support their eighth studio album “Flick of the Switch,” which featured singles like Guns For Hire, Flick of the Switch and Nervous Shakedown. It was the last album to feature drummer Phil Rudd before his return 12 years later. Rudd left AC/DC in May 1983 and was replaced by 19 year-old Simon Wright, who would join the band on the “Flick of the Switch” World Tour.

This was AC/DC’s first of only two concerts ever in New Haven. The band also played in New Haven in 1985 on their “Fly On The Wall” Tour but never returned after that.



Tour: Flick of the Switch

Wednesday December 7, 1983

New Haven Veterans Memorial Coliseum

Ticket Price: $12.50

Band Lineup: Angus Young (lead guitar), Malcolm Young (rhythm guitar), Brian Johnson (vocals), Cliff Williams (bass), Simon Wright (drums)


  1. Guns For Hire
  2. Shoot To Thrill
  3. Sin City
  4. Bedlam In Belgium
  5. Back In Black
  6. Bad Boy Boogie
  7. Rock and Roll Ain’t Noise Pollution
  8. Flick of the Switch
  9. Hells Bells
  10. The Jack
  11. Highway To Hell
  12. Dirty Deeds Done Dirt Cheap
  13. Whole Lotta Rosie
  14. Let There Be Rock
  15. T.N.T. – Encore
  16. For Those About To Rock (We Salute You) – Encore



Check out these live clips of AC/DC in 1983