Throwback Concert: Metallica at The XL Center 1997

Throwback Concert: Metallica at The XL Center 1997

99.1 PLR celebrates 50 years! This week we are celebrating another great year in our history: 1997!

That year PLR welcomed Metallica to Hartford’s XL Center. Metallica hit the road in support of their sixth studio album “Load,” which featured such singles as Until It Sleeps, King Nothing, Hero of the Day and Mama Said.

Their tour was called “Poor Touring Me” and it had two legs, one in Europe and the other in North America. In all, Metallica would play 125 tour dates in 19 different countries. The tour officially kicked off in California in June 1996 and wrapped up in Edmonton almost a year later. The XL Center show featured a center floor stage (or “In-The-Round” as they say) that featured two stages, each with its own drum set.

Special guest Corrosion of Conformity opened the show in Hartford.



Tour: Poor Touring Me World Tour

Special Guest: Corrosion of Conformity

Friday April 4, 1997

The XL Center – Hartford, Connecticut

Ticket Price: $38.50

Band Lineup: James Hetfield (vocals/guitar), Kirk Hammett (guitar), Jason Newsted (bass), Lars Ulrich (drums)



  1. So What
  2. Creeping Death
  3. Sad But True
  4. Ain’t My Bitch
  5. Hero of the Day
  6. King Nothing
  7. One
  8. Wasting My Hate
  9. Bass / Guitar Solos
  10. Nothing Else Matters
  11. Until It Sleeps
  12. For Whom The Bell Tolls
  13. Wherever I May Roam
  14. Fade To Black
  15. Seek & Destroy / Fight Fire With Fire
  16. Last Caress (encore)
  17. Master of Puppets (encore)
  18. Enter Sandman (encore)
  19. Am I Evil? (encore #2)
  20. Motorbreath (encore #2)



Check out these live clips of Metallica in Hartford


Ticket Stub: