Throwback Concert: U2 at Toad’s Place 1981

Throwback Concert: U2 at Toad’s Place 1981

99.1 PLR celebrates 50 years! This week we are celebrating another great year in our history: 1981!

That year PLR welcomed U2 to Toad’s Place. In the spring of 1981, an up-and-coming band named U2 rolled into New Haven and played a club show at Toad’s Place on York Street. This actually wasn’t their first visit to New Haven, as they played Toad’s just five months earlier on their very first tour of North America.

U2 was supporting their debut album, “Boy,” which featured such singles as A Day Without Me and I Will Follow.



Tour: Boy

Wednesday May 27, 1981

Toad’s Place – New Haven, Connecticut

Band Lineup: Bono, The Edge, Adam Clayton, Larry Mullen Jr.


  1. The Ocean
  2. 11 O’clock Tick Tock
  3. I Will Follow
  4. I Fall Down
  5. An Cat Dubh
  6. Into The Heart
  7. Another Time, Another Place
  8. The Cry
  9. The Electric Co.
  10. Things to Make and Do
  11. Stories For Boys
  12. Boy-Girl
  13. Out of Control
  14. Twilight (encore)
  15. I Will Follow (encore)
  16. A Day Without Me (encore)
  17. Fire (encore)



Check out these past live performances